Search This Blog

Monday, May 16, 2011

History Is Made - Owen Sound Attack Are OHL Champions

The series was tied at three games apiece. Owen Sound was on the road in enemy territory. And all the marbles were up for grabs. Almost 3000 Owen Sound residents made the trek south to Mississauga helping sell out the Hershey Center for the most critical game these players will have played to date in their careers. And with over half the fans in attendance were from Owen Sound, what should have sounded like a road game for the Attack sounded more like Bayshore Arena back home.

All the regulation scoring was done in the first period. Mike Halmo would score his 5th of the playoffs for Owen Sound 4:14 into the contest. Matt Stanisz and Joey Hishon would assist on the goal and Owen Sound was up 1-0.

Stuart Percy would even it up with his second of the playoffs from Chris DeDousa and Riley Brace at the 7:26 mark. At 12:34 Owen Sound would restore their lead when Jarrod Maidens scored his fifth of the playoffs from Liam Heelis and Cameron Brace. That lead would last just 2:14 when Mississauga's deadly power play would even it up once again. It was Jordan Mayer scoring his 9th from Michael D'Orazio and Brett Flemming.

Shots in the period were 10-6 in favor of the Majors. Mississauga would score on the only power play in the period

There was no scoring in the second as teams traded opportunities. The shots were 9-7 in favor of Owen Sound. The Attack went 0-2 on the power play while the Majors were 0-1.

Once again the third period saw no scoring. Owen Sound would go on the attack (no pun intended) out shooting the Majors 11-8.  Once again Owen Sound would go 0-2 on the power play while Mississauga went 0-1.

And the teams headed to overtime.

Maidens would end it at 3:47 of overtime when this puck had just enough to get over the goal line to beat JP Anderson. It was the rookies second of the game and sixth of the playoffs and will be a goal he will never forget.

Game 7 in overtime and scores the game winner. It's what every kid dreams about as they begin to play hockey. And for Maidens, who's never scored a bigger goal, it came true.

The Attack poured onto the ice and made a v-line straight for Maidens. The never gave up in the series even when they trailed 2-0 and 3-2. To a man they all said that they did not want into the Memorial Cup through the back door and that their goal was to win the Robertson Cup and become OHL Champions. And the looks on the young mens faces and their celebration proved that that's all they were thinking about.

But even so, they are in the Memorial Cup and that will begin next Friday.

Robby Mignardi was awarded the Wayne Gretzky 99 Trophy as the Most Valuable Player. Mignardi scored an incredible 15 goals and 9 assists in 22 games for the Attack. He had 6 goals and 1 assist in the finals.

there could have been a few Attack players considered for the honor, but none more deserving then Mignardi.

Congratulations Robby !!

Commissioner David Branch presented the J Ross Robertson Cup to Owen Sound Captain Garrett Wilson to a loud ovation from the attack fans that made the trek to Mississauga. This is Owen Sounds first OHL championship and something these players, and fans, will not soon forget.

Congratulations to the 2010-2011 OHL Champions
Owen Sound Attack !!

Check out the scene in Owen Sound last night as the Attack arrived home under escort from Owen Sound Police, Ambulance and Fire Department.

No comments:

Post a Comment